Projected every night of the Festival onto the façade of the Drake Hotel, the new work from Radical Friend (Los Angeles-based directing duo Kirby McClure and Julia Grigorian) randomly collages images from contemporary mass culture’s darker expressions — murder, bikers, deserts — into a hypnotic, dystopic, multi-layered projection wall.

Radical Friend combines commercial media practice — advertisements and music videos — with haunting gallery-based installations. Their new work, Sweat, presented every night of the Festival on the exterior of the Drake Hotel, collages images from contemporary mass culture's darker expressions — murder, bikers, deserts — into a hypnotic, dystopian, projection wall. This rational but random universe conjures up the internal brain functions of Cronenbergian heroes, as their neurological mechanisms become increasingly compromised. The images suggest a journey towards a cybernetic “ singularity, ” denying human emotion and mythologizing the union of man and machine. Variations of intensity between hard-cut, aggressively paced barrages and moments of peace and image clarity suggest this union is unfinished, fragile, and susceptible to internal implosion.

NOAH COWAN

Presented in collaboration with The Drake Hotel, 1150 Queen Street West. Video installation, runs every evening September 5 - 15.

Screenings

Thu Sep 05

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Fri Sep 06

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Sat Sep 07

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Sun Sep 08

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Mon Sep 09

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Tue Sep 10

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Wed Sep 11

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Thu Sep 12

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Fri Sep 13

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Sat Sep 14

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm
Sun Sep 15

The Drake Hotel

Regular
9:00pm